Royal Family – Green Tea Mochi

This is something I was really exited for and have been wanting to try for a while now: Mochi. Since getting fresh Mochi in Europe is close to impossible I had to settle with these:

Royal Family - Green Tea Mochi

Royal Family – Green Tea Mochi

They are produced in Taiwan, so they are not “original” Japanese mochi. I chose the green tea flavor since it appealed to me the most. Little did I know that this decision probably wasn’t the wisest.

inside the box

inside the box

There are six in one box, each of them in a little paper cup:

single mochi

single mochi

For some reason these are green. Probably because of the added food grade colors. Maybe they weren’t green enough for green tea mochi. But this made them look completely different from the ones displayed on the box:

box vs. reality

box vs. reality

I honestly think the food coloring wasn’t necessary. It just takes away from the “mochi-look”. I am no mochi expert though… Those being my first mochi and all. Here is the inside:

mochi inside

mochi inside

These were really underwhelming to be honest. They also had a very powdery taste that I didn’t like, which might entirely be because of the green tea flavor. It lists green tea powder in the ingredients. The rice part wasn’t bad at all, the filling just wasn’t the right thing for me. They also were a little big and seemed to be very filling so I don’t see how it would be possible to eat 6 at once (unless you shared them with 6 people, of course).

These probably won’t be purchased again. I’ll try a different flavor, though. I won’t give up on mochi just yet.

What’s in them?

Ingredients*:
Maltose, sugar, sticky rice, starch, vegetable oil, green tea paste, green tea powder, flavor, E133, E102, E110, sorbic acid
Net weight: 210g (7.4oz)

It is also halal, if this is important to you.

Here are the nutrition facts:

Serving size: 1 pcs (35g/1.2oz)
Servings per Container: 6
Amount Per Serving
Calories 115
Calories from Fat 1
% Daily Value
Total Fat 0g 0%
Saturated Fat 0g 0%
Trans Fat 0g 0%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 15mg 1%
Total Carbohydrates 28g 9%
Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
Sugars 9g
Protein 1g
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 0%
Iron 0%

Want to know more about Royal family and all their different Mochi flavors? Go here!

*translated by me

Leave a comment